DIY: Embroidered Necklace

A few weeks ago I was trying to decide what other feather pieces I could make, because I really liked the way the original ones turned out. I decided on a necklace…

What you need to make one:

  1. Fabric (I used linen)
  2. Floss
  3. Felt
  4. Chain
  5. Jump Ring (I forgot to put mine in, so that step will be missing)
  6. Scissors
  7. Needle

Step One:
Sketch out whatever it is you chose to embroider on your fabric. You can do it as simple, or as detailed as you would like.

Step Two:  Embroider your design!

Step Three:
 Cut out your embroidered piece leaving a little extra space, and then pin it to your piece of felt. The felt will act as the backing for your piece, leather would be nice to use…but I didn’t have any.

Step four:
 Sew your two pieces together, and trim off the extra fabric. I sewed them together using a simple backstitch.

Step Five:
 Poke a hole where you what the chain to go through, and string your chain through it. (If you were to use a jump ring you would insert it into your hole you punched, and then string the chain through that)

Pretty quick, easy, and cute! If you make one be sure to share!

xoxo.

2 Comments

Filed under DIY, Embroidery, Sewing, tutorials

2 responses to “DIY: Embroidered Necklace

  1. stelabird

    I LOVE this!! I’m definitely going to try making one!

  2. Pingback: DIY: Embroidered Arrow Necklace | Too Crewel.

Leave a comment