Magic Embroidery With Yarn

egoodness

Back in May I picked up some handmade yarn that my co-worker’s wife makes (you can check out her etsy shop here), and I’ve been trying to decide what to make with it ever since. I ended up making a couple of simple pieces with it to test out how it looks using it in embroidery.

DSCN4110 I decided on the word ‘Magic,’ the colors in the yarn seemed kinda psychedelic so I thought it would fit. Since I’ve been hooked on altering the fabric with paint I used gold acrylic on this piece.

DSCN4111 DSCN4117 DSCN4119
For the embroidery I did a double layer of backstitch to give it a little more weight. A single stitch looked kind of lost on the piece.

DSCN4108
I love stitching with yarn, I just always seem to forget this. The wool gives a lot more texture to the pieces, and I’m into that!

xoxo.
signature

Leave a comment

Filed under Crewel, Embroidery, Etsy, Fabric

Leave a Reply

