Embroidery on a Photo

DIY2

For awhile now I’ve wanted to embroider on a photo, I just haven’t gotten around to it for some reason. Finally last month I did it!

DSCN3674

 This wasn’t my first attempt…my first try was this:

failcollage I went at it without a plan (never a good idea), and then my floss got all knotted up over my skirt, and Bryan’s hat ended up looking like weird surfer hair. So, my second time around I decided to try something simple before I try and do too much. I figure I should probably get used to embroidering on such a different material before anything.

DSCN3659

I drew the hearts on with pen, and poked holes in before I started stitching, and then I just played connect the dots. Pretty simple, but I think it turned out pretty cute (in a cheesy, sappy, sort of way)!
DSCN3671DSCN3668
Now that I got the hang of it next time around I’m going to try something a little bit more in depth. I’m thinking a landscape photo would be cool, then I can fill in some of the grass and foliage. Stay tuned for my next try!

ps. These photos were both taken by Abbey Moore Photography!

xoxo.
signature

2 Comments

Filed under DIY, Embroidery, photos, tutorials

2 responses to “Embroidery on a Photo

  1. I thought about doing something like this a while ago and never found a photo I wanted to use. Yours is super cute! I think I should go photo-hunting again so I can make my own.

  2. Love these! So fun to see what people are doing with the pictures I take 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

