Build A Better Block: re//STATE

Hello everyone!

I haven’t updated in a couple of weeks, but for very good reason! This past weekend I participated in Build a Better Block: re//STATE in my city, Grand Rapids, MI. It was a really fun event that I was so happy to be apart of. It took place on State Street with the idea of showing what the street could potentially be like if shops, restaurants, and other businesses filled the empty buildings that take up most of the street. I’ve worked on State St. for just over five years now, so it was really great to see the street flooded with people for the first time.

This was also my first time every being a vendor at an event, or even selling my work in person! Now I’m hooked and I can’t wait to do another event.

DSCN3617My space was a Parisian-Style box that rested on a concrete fence that was painted with chalkboard paint! DSCN3620 I was obviously very excited about it!

DSCN3621 DSCN3622 DSCN3625There are a few pieces here that I haven’t shared yet, so I’ll be featuring them individually throughout this week. A few of them are still available too, so those will be up on Etsy too when my shop reopens this week! 
DSCN3626
 Bryan made patches using a few different linocuts he carved up. They turned out pretty awesome and still has a couple left if anyone is interested ($3 each or two for $5)!

DSCN3629 There was some yummy food from the food truck, and this was my favorite. Quinoa, Kale, Pumpkin Seed, Siracha, and fire roasted bean nachos!

I was also lucky enough to have the best helpers there with me this weekend!:
DSCN3631Bryan and our roommate Lauren sat with me pretty the entire time both days, besides when they were awarded breaks to the beer garden! They’re the best.DSCN3628 DSCN3634My lovely friend Carrie came down for a few hours one of the days too. Thanks, Carrie!
DSCN3643
On the second day of the event my dad and Bryan took advantage of an empty alley way next to us to practice their fly fishing skills.

Screen shot 2013-05-19 at 9.25.09 PM

(source)
The second day I split some of my space with my co-workers wife who spins some seriously beautiful yarn. She just got some rabbits, so soon she really will be doing it all herself! Hopefully soon I’ll have a project to share with some of it that I got from her!

All and all it was a really great weekend and it was wonderful to meet so many other like-minded individuals in the community!

xoxo.
signature

1 Comment

Filed under Embroidery

One response to “Build A Better Block: re//STATE

  1. Liesi, this is AWESOME!!! I adore your stand, so incredibly cute! Glad to see that Hank made it to the fair. Did he sell? Congrats!

Leave a Reply

