Skirt Turned Pillow

Confession time: I’m a pack rat. I’m not nearly as bad as I used to be, but I really do keep way too much crap. For example, this skirt.
I got this for my 17th birthday…eight years ago. I decided it was time to admit I never wear it. It was too big, and the zipper has been busted for two years now. So, I turned it into a quick DIY project.

 I really liked the linen fabric, so I didn’t want to change too much about it. I added in some embroidery in the stripes, and a button from an old sweater for the middle.
I got this new gold floss that I had been wanting to try out, and I have to say I was pretty let down. It is basically floss wrapped in a hard layer of gold, which made it pretty much impossible to work with. I’m happy with the result, but it was such a pain in the ass to work with I’ll probably never use it for embroidery again.

Now I’m off to see what else I can upcycle!

xoxo.

1 Comment

Filed under DIY, Embroidery, Fabric, Sewing

One response to “Skirt Turned Pillow

  1. Megan

    I have this same skit in my closet but like you could not give it up. Such a cute idea for old clothes needing an update.

Leave a Reply

