DIY: Pom-Pom Mobile

It is no secret that I adore DIY home accents. I love little yarn pom-poms, and I’ve been wanting something that can easily hang in a corner. So then it hit me, a mobile.

Here is what you need:

  • Paint
  • Frame
  • Yarn
  • Cardboard
  • Scissors
  • Floss
  • Mason jar lid (optional)
So, you have all of your stuff ready? Here is what you do…
First, you need to make your pom-poms.
 You can check out this more in depth tutorial over at Stelabird, this is the one I followed when I first learned how to make them. It is super easy to follow.
Next step for me was painting the picture frame. I would have liked to have one with some more details, but I made this with items I already had around the house.
Nice and ugly before.
Nice and minty after.
The third step is to string your pom-poms.
 It works best if you string the floss right through the middle where the “knot” is.
After this is done it is time to attach them to the frame, I just wrapped the strands around and knotted the floss.
Afterwards I tied yarn to each corner, and then wrapped it around the lid of a mason jar, and tied a knot where it could hang.

 I really like the way it turned out- but I can’t decide if I’m going to hang it. It might be a little too nursery-ish for an adult bedroom. What do ya think?

PS: Today is also the last day to enter this giveaway for a $15.00 store credit, and the last day to sign up for free sponsorship for May!

xoxo.

3 Comments

Filed under DIY, Giveaway, tutorials

3 responses to “DIY: Pom-Pom Mobile

  1. stelabird

    Aw thank you for mentioning me! It looks amazing! I love the colors that you chose and I think it looks like a party, not nursery-ish.

  2. Reblogged this on Something to Ponder About and commented:
    More things to do with pom-poms

  3. very cute! thank you for stopping by my blog and deciding to follow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

