The Happiness Project

Last April (or May?) one of my girlfriends gave me the Gretchen Rubin novel “The Happiness Project.” If you haven’t heard of it, the book follows a year of Gretchen’s life where she focuses on her happiness project. She realizes that while she is in no way unhappy, she could be happier. Each month she had a new focus point to add on, from topics such as boosting energy, lightening up, pursue a passion, and be serious about play. She also creates her personal commandments, or rules to live by.

When reading this book I found myself wanting to try out some of Gretchen’s ideas.

  • Spend your time doing what you love.
    This one seems a no brainer, right? Uh, no. So many people (myself included) spend some much time doing what they think they have to do, and not actually doing what they love.
  • Energize.
    Once upon a time, long, long ago, I used to be a morning person. Weird, right? I’m totally not anymore. At all. My sleep schedule doesn’t even make any sense. I’d like to be on a schedule of going to sleep by 11:30-12:00 and wake up at 7:30-8:00. Half of the time I don’t even get out of work until 11pm, but I feel so much more alert when I get a “real” nights sleep.
  • Happiness Journal.
    I love this idea. I love to journal, but often times I don’t find the time to do it. This idea is that you write down the happiest part of your day, and that’s it. I love the idea of being able to look through some type of notebook and seeing all of the little things that have made me smile.
  • One Minute Rule.
    The easiest and most time saving rule ever. If a task takes less than a minute to complete, don’t put it off. Do it now.
  • Plan Ahead.
    Again, so simple, but it saves so much stress. I’m a big nerd about planning and organization. Usually everyday I make lists of things that I want to complete the next day, or whatever. I don’t have a wallet, I have a mini planner I carry around.
  • Positivity.
    Forget negativity!

I also felt inspired to create my own list of my “rules.”

  1.  Relax.
  2. Remember to do the simple things you enjoy (exercising, reading, ect.)
  3. Take a moment, and don’t over analyze things.
  4. Live in a way you’d be proud of.
  5. Enjoy and laugh at the bumps in the road.
  6. Focus on what you have, not what you don’t have.
  7. Take chance.
  8. Make time spent with other quality time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Wellness

Leave a Reply

