Things to do with a sweater!

 

This year my Christmas was done on a ridiculously small budget. I only bought two things, the rest is all handmade. The other day in the midst of finishing up some gifts I decided to chop up one of my thrifted sweaters to see I could do with it. So, here are some ideas for last minute (and cheap!) gifts.

This is the sweater I used:

Headband: 

Step one is to cut off one of the sleeves.

Then cut off the shoulder edge to make both sides flat.

Turn the sleeve inside out, and trim off the extra width to make it an even size.

While it is still inside out, you sew the loose edge you just cut together. Turn it back right side, tuck the frayed end into the sleeves end, and sew it together.

ta-da!

 

Brooches: 

Cut five circles (or whatever shape you choose) in descending order.

 

Place them on top of each other in the order you desire. Either by hand or on machine (I used machine) sew a straight line down the center of the smallest piece of fabric.

There you have it! All of you have to do on the back is stitch on a brooch pin, or if you don't have one a safety pin will even work.

Or you can put it on your new headband!

Pillow:

(this is seriously the easiest throw pillow you will ever make!)

Cut out two pieces of the shaped pillow you want.

Flip both pieces inside out and sew along the edges (leaving about a two inch gap at the bottom to turn it back right side).

Stuff the pillow, and hand sew the small gap you left. It is cute, simple, and comfy!

Earrings:

Cut out various pieces to stack on top of each other (similar to the brooch).

Stack on top of each other, and sew a line straight down the middle of the top layer. It will hold them all together, and you end up not really being able to see the stitching because of the material. Then thread a piece of thread through the top, tie your posts onto it, and you're done!

I also made these ones (the teal is from a thrifted skirt I haven’t worn in forever):

I think all of this inspired Bryan, because when I came home from work last night he announced that he tried to make me something. He made me a laptop case out of some of his thrifted sweaters and shirts.

I think I’m going to add a zipper to the top of it, the button doesn’t want to stay shut.

Any ideas of other things to make?

xoxo.

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Fabric, Printing

Leave a Reply

