DIY Kindle Sleeve

A while back a lovely gal named Carolyn asked me to do an art trade with her, and make a Kindle sleeve. I finally finished the sleeve, and thought I’d make it into a brief and simple tutorial!

Materials:

  • Ruler/Tape measurer
  • Pins
  • Needle
  • Embroidery/Creweling Floss
  • Wool Felt and plain felt (whatever you prefer)
  • Scissors
Step One: Design
Pick out the colors of felt you’d like to use, and sketch out whatever design you are choosing.  

I chose brown for the overall, light blue, a reddish color, and also white.

Step Two: Cut Out Pieces
This is where you’ll need your ruler. If you don’t know the dimensions of your Kindle ( or iPad, whatever really) then now is the time to measure it. I think most are about 7.5″ x 4.8″. I did the “body” of my sleeve two pieces thick (for some extra cushion) and cut the pieces about 8″ x 5.” I then cut out the pieces I needed for my design.

 Step Three: Putting it Together!
Now is when you sew your design portion together. I did one piece at a time, starting with the blue, then the white, and lastly the red. I hand sewed everything on using a back stitch, but you could also use a machine. I liked the idea of chunky stitching on this piece, though.
   
Step Four: The Closure
For my sleeve I used a single large button.  I sewed it onto two pieces of the brown felt (folded and sewed in half to make it more sturdy). To attach it, sew it between the back two layers of the sleeve, as to not expose the point of attachment.
Step Five:
Put it all together! At this point I decided to continue with the hand sewing, and finished the piece with a blanket stitch (if you do not know how to do a blanket stitch, I found a really great tutorial here).
I’d show it with a Kindle…but I don’t have one 🙂 I think I’m going to make one similar for my laptop!
Happy Sewing!
xoxo.
  PS! Don’t forever to enter this weeks giveaway! There will be another new item up this week. Enter here 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under DIY, Fabric, Sewing

One response to “DIY Kindle Sleeve

  1. You’re busy reading my mind again lady–I was just on Etsy looking at ereader covers, as my Kobo is badly in need of one! This one turned out great!

Leave a Reply

