30 Days: Day 6

Now we’re getting into the juicy questions! Today question asks of my 30 Days asks:

Have you ever had your heart broken?

I’m sure many people are expecting an answer of how my first love broke my heart, or something like that. Wrong, although as a teen I thought my heart was literally breaking. Oh puppy love, it’s a funny thing, isn’t it? Anyways, of course I’ve had my heart broken, who hasn’t, really?

I’ve experienced heart breaking loss, and there is not a day that goes by that I do not think about it. The loss of loved ones, loved ones lost before they could even live, seeing my friends and family hurting, and my heart broke finding out my father was diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease. The thing about having your heart broken, though? Life still goes on. Everyday I pick up the pieces, remind myself what (an who) makes me smile, and kick the day’s ass. I spent too much of my life with a pity me mentality (my high school Livejournal is proof of that!), and it’s just not worth it. Everyone has their heart broken in life.

But just because I can, here is a photo of my grandpa and me. He passed away when I was in 8th grade, and losing him was one of the biggest heartbreaks. The chair we are sitting on can pretty much sum up how much he meant to me. It was “his chair,” and when I was a toddler I found out he and my grandma were moving to Florida. I obviously didn’t know where Florida was, but I knew it wasn’t the house next door to me anymore. I decided to take my frustration out on his chair when they were packing up…I took a giant red sharpie and scribbled all over the seat. My grandpa refused to throw it away, every time he sat on it he’d get a red butt, which is why there is a sheet covering it. He kept that chair until a year before he passed away. He got a new one to replace it, but he hated it. After he passed away, I inherited the new chair. I’ll probably keep that ugly lazy boy forever.
 The 5th year anniversary of his death, I got his portrait tattooed on my back!

Summer 2010, Arizona. (yes...that is me!)

xoxo.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “30 Days: Day 6

  1. Loving this lady! And I had no idea about your dad…. :/ Your attitude is inspiring! Love you!

    • Thanks, Abbey! My dad only found out a couple years ago, it’s been a struggle, but what doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger! Love you, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

