Autumn Wooden Embroidery

I’ve always wanted to try to create an embroidery out of a piece of wood, and this week I finally did! I did a maple leaf in autumn colors on a piece of a large branch. I can’t wait to make more.

Here is what you need:

  • A piece of wood of your choosing (I bought my log/branch piece at Hobby Lobby for $5.99).
  • Floss, or yarn.
  • Needle.
  • Scissors.
  • A drill ( I used a Fiksars hand drill, an electric one isn’t necessary).
  • Pencil.
  • Clamps, or an extra set of hands (optional, but makes it a lot easier when you are drilling).

I traced the leaf I drew onto the piece of wood with a pencil, instead of tracing it with lines i did dots where I wanted the holes to go. (I also clamped it to the table so it wouldn't move..and did it on top of VHS's, haha)

All of the holes drilled out! (notice the dents from the drill, and there will be dents from the clamps, so it is my suggestion to be drilling on the back side up) I then cleared the saw dust out of the holes with a needle.

I did a backstitch with the floss.

If you want to hang it on the wall, these little hangers come super cheap! I got a pack of six for $1.50.

Finished! Now that I got one down, I'm going to try and do a more complex one next time.

Now go make one!, and share your results with me 🙂 Oh and this one is for sale on etsy!

xoxo.

4 Comments

Filed under DIY, Embroidery

4 responses to “Autumn Wooden Embroidery

  1. Really cute! I haven’t seen one like this before. Love how simple it was. Stopped over from FTLOB, hope you had a great weekend 🙂

    TGN
    Nobody Need Wait

  2. I love it!! That’s so awesome.
    btw, I love your earrings!

  3. Pingback: Wooden Tree Embroidery | Too Crewel.

Leave a Reply

