Spain’s Evolution

Yesterday I was able to start my project (embroidered pillow of Spain) for the first week of my 30 Day Challenge, which will be completed by Sunday. The fabric I ordered for the piece isn’t quite the color I expected it to be, but that is okay because I actually like it better than what I saw pictured! I ended up adjusting the color of floss I was using once the fabric arrived. Initially I was going to outline Spain in orange, and do the title and little hearts in off white. I reversed the colors, and picked a more muted orange. I’m still not 100% on where I’m going to place the little hearts, so I’m open for suggestions!

Here are some photos of its evolution so far (the actual color of the fabric isn’t as it appears in these photos)!

The fabric from Sew, Mama, Sew! arrived in such cute packaging!
My first step was to cut out the drawing of Spain so I could trace it onto the fabric.
I then had a clean outline, put it in a hoop, and was ready to go!

Ta-da! The outline is complete!
Starting on the little details.

The stitches I’m using are a split stitch, and a back stitch, and the fabric is 100% cotton (Kona Cotton). Oh, and my boyfriend just asked me “is there any little islands off of spain?” I forgot to do the islands! So those will be added on along with the hearts. 🙂

While I’m at it, here is a sneak peak of the colors I’ll be using for my upcoming projects this month!

xoxo.

2 Comments

Filed under 30 Days, Embroidery, Fabric

2 responses to “Spain’s Evolution

  1. Oh my goodness it’s BEAUTIFUL!!!!!! I’m so excited! It’s going to look so good in my houseeee. 🙂 Barcelona and Madrid were to two places I stayed. And El Escorial was the most beautiful place I’ve ever been in my WHOLE life (it’s a monastery outside of Madrid… it was amazing.) Literally the best day of my life. We ran through the trees and it was glorious. I have an album of it i’m sure!

    LOVE YOU.

Leave a Reply

